HRNZ in association with Principal Sponsor MAS, are pleased to announce the finalists for the 2023 NZ HR Awards. Congratulations to the following individuals and organisations.

Individual Award Finalists:

  • HR Student of the Year 
    • Justus Duncanson – University of Canterbury 
    • Rebecca Jackson - Massey University
  • Emerging HR Practitioner of the Year, in association with MAS 
    • Amanda Haynes – Medenterprises Services Ltd
    • Jason Cook - Mt Pokaka Timber Products Ltd
  • HR Professional of the Year, in association with PwC New Zealand
    • Kate Bacchus - hr butter
    • Sophie John - Fingermark
    • Tina Evangelista - SeaLink Travel Group 
    • Kerry Tattersall - Baker Tilly Staples Rodway
  • Leadership Award, in association with MAS
    • Laura Warren - Otago Polytechnic
    • Eshni Chetty - Hilton Hotels 
    • Lisa Duston - Master Plumbers, Gasfitters & Drainlayers NZ
  • Wellbeing Leadership Award, in association with Skills Consulting Group 
    • Sarah Mason - Fulton Hogan 
    • Liz McAllister - McDonald's Restaurants (NZ) Ltd


Mana Tāngata Award Finalists

In association with Robert Walters

  • Melissa Rice/Hauora Tara-Ā-Whare/Access Community Health
  • Otago Polytechnic Te Kura Matatini ki Otago
  • Te Whatu Ora Waitaha

Organisational Award Finalists:

  • Diversity & Inclusion Award
    • Education Perfect 
    • New Zealand Steel 
    • Te Whatu Ora Waitaha
  • Future of Work Award, in association with Alex Hagan 
    • Accident Compensation Corporation (ACC)
    • Wattie's Kraft Heinz
  • Building Sustainability Through People Award, in  association with Belle of the Ball 
    • Mitre 10 New Zealand Ltd
    • PeopleEX
  • Innovation Award, in association with Fuel50 
    • Z Energy 
    • Worldline NZ 
    • Te Toka Tumai Auckland
  • Learning & Development Capability Awardin association with Complete Learning Solutions
    • Southbase Construction 
    • Waipapa Taumata Rau University of Auckland 
    • Fonterra Farm Source
  • Organisational Change & Development Award, in association with Real TV 
    • My Food Bag 
    • Kaipara District Council 
    • Ōtorohanga District Council 
    • Z Energy
  • Talent Acquisition Award, in association with Aims Global
    • Tonkin + Taylor 
    • Te Whatu Ora | Te Toka Tumai Auckland for the HCA Earn and Learn Programme
    • Te Whatu Ora | Te Toka Tumai Auckland for the Hospital Supporter Service
  • Technology Award, in association with Tomorrow's People
    • Tompkins Wake 
    • Hauora Tara-Ā-Whare | Access Community Health
  • Wellness Programme Awardin association with Southern Cross Health Insurance
    • Te Whatu Ora, Te Toka Tumai (Health New Zealand, Auckland District) 
    • McDonald's Restaurants (NZ) Ltd 
    • Worldline NZ 
    • Public Trust
  • HRNZ Branch of the Year, in association with HRNZ
    • Academic
    • Auckland
    • Otago

The prestigious HR Person of the Year title will be awarded to one of the winners of the Emerging Practitioner of the Year, HR Professional of the Year, Wellbeing Leadership or Leadership Awards.

The HRNZ Supreme Award title will be awarded to the organisation showing greatest overall leadership in HR practice.

A special Outstanding Service Award, in association with Strategic Pay, will be presented to a person to acknowledge their outstanding and ongoing contribution to the Human Resources profession in New Zealand.

For the first time, we will be awarding the Academic Impact Award, to recognise the connection and contribution of academics to the HR profession.