Skip to main content

Recognising workplace inclusion changemakers

Workplace inclusion changemakers who challenge non-inclusive systems, practices and mindsets are key to building environments of belonging.

The 2023 Diversity Awards NZ™ will again recognise individuals who expertly use their knowledge, skills, experience and emotional intelligence to create spaces where everyone feels safe to have a voice and to make a contribution to shared objectives.

“The Diversity Champion Award, introduced last year as part of the 25th anniversary of our awards programme, will now become a regular addition to our categories,” says Diversity Works New Zealand Chief Executive Maretha Smit.

“Being a champion for diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) means more than being a supporter for a cause. It means more than being able to tell a lived experience story of exclusion.

“Diversity champions can identify the biases and prejudices that are pervasive in our workplaces and society at large. They acknowledge and interrupt their own biases and can read and understand others without distortions of emotionally laden stereotypes.

“They incorporate DEI values and behaviours in everything they do and leave a lasting legacy that creates an ongoing positive impact.”

Nominations for the 2023 Diversity Champion Award close on 2 May, which is also the final date for entries into the award categories open to organisations.

This year, organisations are invited to share the mahi they are doing to create more inclusive workplaces in Aotearoa through four award categories: Leadership, Diverse Talent, Inclusive Workplace and Ngā Āhuatanga o te Tiriti.

The judging panel can give an award to a small to medium organisation (fewer than 100 staff) and a medium to large organisation (100 or more staff) in each of these categories.

The Impact Award is open to private sector and not-for-profit organisations whose core business it is to facilitate the provision of more equitable workplace opportunities. Corporates and private sector businesses that have invested in initiatives that are provided at no cost to a broad audience with a purpose of building a more inclusive society can also enter this category in 2023.

Entries close at 3pm on Tuesday, May 2. For more information or to submit an entry, head to


For more information please contact:

Maretha Smit                                  Sheryl Blythen
Chief Executive                                Head of Marketing and Communications
+64 27 627 3842                             +64 21 674 443
[email protected]      [email protected]